Atkins Diet: The 4-phase low carb diet

Low carb diet is the new trend. But there are too many types of low-carb diets, creating confusion: which one should I follow?
Amongst all low-carb diets, the most popular is Atkins Diet. Created by an American cardiologist, Robert C. Atkins in the 1970s, this diet works in 4 phases to balance your carb consumption. It has evolved over time into various forms, but the gist remains the same.

What is Atkins Diet?

The Atkins diet is for weight loss through intelligent consumption of carbohydrates. Primarily, followed in 4 phases, it was initially discarded by medical institutions due to its high-fat content. But recent studies show that saturated fat is harmless.
Atkins diet has four fundamental principles:
1. Weight loss
2. Weight maintenance
3. Good health
4. Prevention of diseases

4 phases of Atkins Diet

Atkins diet has 4 phases which are:

1. Induction

This is the most restrictive part of the diet plan. It focuses on the reduction of carb intake to 20 grams per day, for a minimum of two weeks. Instead, you eat more protein and fat and high nutrient-dense foods.
Since the body has lower carbs, it will burn residual fat. As a result, there will be a drastic weight loss.

2. OWL (Ongoing weight loss)

While induction initiates weight loss, OWL helps to maintain the loss. Your carbohydrate intake will increase to 25 grams for the first week, 30 grams next week, and so on. This phase will continue until you are near 5-10 pounds of target weight.
You can now include low-carb veggies and fruits like berries.

3. Pre-maintenance

Since you are near your target weight, you can increase your carb consumption by 10 grams each week. You can now consume legumes, lentils, fruits. But stay away from starch, whole grains.
Once you reach your desired weight and maintain it for a month, you have reached your carb tolerance level.

4. Life maintenance

This is the key to Atkins diet. Once you have found your carb tolerance level, you can consume carbs without gaining weight. Generally, the carb level varies from 40 to 120 per day depending on various factors like age, gender, metabolism, physical activity level.

Also Read: Atkins Diet: Why is it so popular?

What to eat and what not to: A list

To Eat:

Meat, Poultry, Eggs, Lamb, and beef
Seafood such as Trout, Salmon, Sardines
Healthy fats such as Olive oil, avocado oil
Leafy green vegetables like broccoli, spinach, kale
Butter, full-fat yogurt, cream, soft cheese
Legumes, lentils, nuts, and seeds

To Avoid:

High carb such as whole grains
Starch such as potatoes
Refined oil and vegetable oil such as sunflower oil, soyabean oil
High-processed food, trans fat, diet, and low-fat food
Sugar such as sweets, cakes, candies, soda


Drink 8 glasses of water, green tea, coffee (low sugar)

Atkin diet has many benefits and is followed all over the world. It helps to prevent diabetes, high blood pressure, and cardiovascular disease. But every individual has their own requirements and body types. Thinking about a radical change in diet? Talk to a doctor or dietician.

Source: The Atkins Diet: Getting Started, Staying Focused

Similar Articles


  1. Wow! Thank you! I continually needed to write on my blog something like that.
    Can I take a part of your post to my site?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Most Popular