ALL VEGANS ARE VEGETARIANS BUT NOT ALL VEGETATRIONS ARE VEGANS
Many people often assume that both vegan and vegetarian diets are the same but just stated differently. They think that vegans are vegetarians just with more restrictions. Little do they know that there’s more to know about those diets.
So, let’s jump straight into the differences between the two diets.
Both veganism and vegetarianism are growing quite popular. However, people find it difficult to actually see the difference between these two
diets, particularly because of the several variations of vegetarianism.

WHAT IS A VEGETARIAN DIET?



A vegetarian is someone who doesn’t eat any meat, fish, and by-products of animal slaughter. The vegetarian diet mainly includes fruits, vegetables, grains, pulses, and nuts. However, many vegetarians do consume byproducts that do not involve animal slaughter, like eggs, dairy products: milk, yogurt and cheese, and honey. They use these as a meat substitute.
Vegetarianism is typically less strict than veganism. As a result, there are many variations of the vegetarian diet such as

● Lacto vegetarians: These individuals consume dairy products such as cheese, yogurt, milk, cottage cheese, and butter.
● Ovo-vegetarians: Individuals following this diet do not eat any meat, fish, and dairy products, but they do consume eggs
● Lacto-ovo-vegetarians: These individuals consume both dairy products and eggs but no meat.
● Pescatarian: Those who follow this diet avoid all meats except fish and other seafood.
● Vegans: Vegetarians who avoid all animal-derived products.

WHAT IS VEGAN DIET?

A vegan diet can be viewed as the strictest form of vegetarianism. A vegan diet not only excludes animal flesh, but also dairy, eggs, and animal-
derived byproducts. These include carmine, whey, honey, casein, and some other forms of vitamin D3.
The Vegan Society defines veganism as “ A way of living, which seeks to exclude all forms of exploitation and cruelty towards animals for food, clothing, or any other purposes”.
Some strict vegan practitioners even avoid any products that are derived directly/ indirectly from animals. These include Leather, wool, silk,
beeswax, soaps/candles that contain animal fat, and cosmetics that are tested on animals by the manufactures.
Different types of vegans: Technically speaking, there’s only one way to be a vegan, but there are a couple of variations in their diet.
● Raw Vegan: A Raw vegan is someone who combines the concept of veganism and raw foodism, excluding all food and products of
animal origin, as well as foods cooked above 48 degrees C.
● Paleo Vegan: A Paleo vegan is basically a vegan who doesn’t consume processed foods.

Vegetarians and vegans differ in their beliefs regarding the use of animals by humans. This is why some vegetarians consume animal-derived food and vegans don’t.

SIMILARITIES BETWEEN VEGAN AND VEGETARIAN:
● Causes you to lose weight.
● Provides cardiovascular benefits, such as lowering cholesterol and blood pressure.
● Reducing the risk of cancer.
● Improves bowel function
● Reduce the risk of developing diabetes.

FINAL TAKEAWAY:
Vegans and vegetarians choose not to eat meat. But, veganism is stricter and prohibits any animal flesh and animal-derived products.
VEGETARIANISM IS A DIET WHEREAS VEGANISM IS A LIFESTYLE.
Both vegetarians and vegans need to plan their diets accordingly, to avoid health problems over the long run.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here